RSS

SOUP TIME!!!! (finally…)

16 Dec

I live in Texas. Except for the August heat, I love the weather here. After months of HOT, we get a month or two of cold weather, maybe 2 snow days, although Texas Snow is really sleet, hail and flurries that turn to road hazards the moment they hit the ground.

baby its cold outside

I look forward to the cold months for a couple of reasons:

  1. I get to warm my icy feet on my dear husband’s legs and make him curse me every single night (MUAHAHAHA),
  2. I can go for months without worrying about my toenails being presentable,
  3. There is the possibility of going on a ski trip (YAY!),
  4. And it’s not unbearably hot when I use the stove and oven to cook or bake!

The hubs pretends to HATE #1, but I am really doing him a favor since he’s always hot and I’m always cold – it evens it out! #4 means that it’s time to make hot things – like snickerdoodles, kartoffelsuppe, cakes, and kale soup.

Since I have been lax in posting, this will be a two-fer. Just for you!

The soup making began with a request for something with kale.

DSCF1048

I like kale, but I never know what to do with it besides kale chips, and anytime I don’t know what to do with a vegetable, soup is usually the fallback. So I decided to make a kale soup. I added sausage to it, and it actually turned out kind of like the Zuppa Toscana at Olive Garden, only better.

Yummy soup in my favorite bowls

Yummy soup in my favorite bowls

The next soup-making quest began with a craving for german food. We eat at Everything German in Bedford fairly often, and I LOVE their kartoffelsuppe (german potato soup). We eat out way too much, so in an effort to cut back on our food costs, I decided to take a crack at making it myself. It was a smashing success, if I do say so myself.

New wine was on sale - so I bought a red and a white, we drank both bottles that night. ;-)

New wine was on sale – so I bought a red and a white, we drank both bottles that night. 😉

As with any meal, the animals in our lives benefit as well:

Carrot Peels = happy chickens (and darker yolks!)

Carrot Peels = happy chickens (and darker yolks!)

Kale ribs = happy bunnies

Kale ribs = happy bunnies

Kale/Sausage Soup

What You Need

  • 2 bunches Kale, torn into bite-sized pieces (I give the ribs to the bunnies)
  • 5 medium Carrots, sliced
  • 12 whole Red Potatoes, slided (I used a mandolin slicer)
  • 1 whole Onion, diced
  • 1 pound Italian Sausage
  • 1 teaspoon Red Pepper Flakes
  • 2 cups Low Sodium Chicken Broth
  • 4 cups Half-and-half (optional)
  • Oregano
  • Black Pepper

What to Do With All That

  1. In a medium pot, boil sliced potatoes and carrots until tender. Drain and set aside.
  2. In a large soup pot, crumble and brown the Italian sausage. Drain as much as the fat as you can. Stir in the red pepper flakes, oregano, chicken broth and half-and-half (if desires, if not, replace with water).
  3. Simmer for 30 minutes.
  4. Give it a taste and adjust seasonings as needed.
  5. Add the potatoes, then stir in the kale. Simmer an additional 10-15 minutes, then serve.
  6. If one of you wants creamy soup and one doesn’t, splash some half and half into your bowl at the end. I like it better that way, hubs disagrees.

DSCF1050

Kartoffelsuppe

What You Need

  1. 6 large Russet Potatoes
  2. 4 medium Carrots
  3. 2 stalk of Celery
  4. 3 Leeks
  5. Sprig of Parsley
  6. 2 Onions
  7. 4 slices of Bacon (more fat the better)
  8. 2 Tbsp Butter
  9. 3 Tbsp Flour
  10. 8 cups Salted Water
  11. Pinch of Marjoram
  12. Salt and Pepper to taste

What to Do With All That

  1. Slice Potatoes, Carrots, Celery, Leeks, dice Onions and mince Parsley
  2. Add to Salted Water and bring to a slow boil in a large pot
  3. Cook until Potatoes are tender
  4. Chop Bacon into small pieces and fry in large skillet
  5. Add Butter and onion and sauté in skillet until browned
  6. Add Flour to skillet and mix thoroughly, cook over medium heat for 2 minutes
  7. Slowly add 1 cup of liquid from soup pot to skillet, stirring until combined
  8. Add skillet mixture to soup pot
  9. Stir in Marjoram
  10. Simmer for 25 minutes
  11. Puree using an immersion blender
  12. Add water until desired consistency is achieved
  13. Salt and pepper to taste
  14. Bring to a slow boil, then serve

ENJOY!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 16, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
Littlest Martha

petite woman with big aspirations

Luv Dat Cupcake

the sweeter side of life

power4the24

A fine WordPress.com site

everyday theology

from a nonconstantian and postmodern perspective

24daychallengerecipes

Tasty recipes for Advocare's 24 Day Challenge

Loving Life at Home

Marriage, Motherhood, and Minding what Matters

Immeasurable Hunger

a young woman's ravenous exploration of food and life

BunnyandPorkBelly

life is always sweeter and yummier through a lens. bunnyandporkbelly [at] gmail [dot] com

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

